New Immigration Regime

Short-Term Language Students

January 2011



AN ROINN DLÍ AGUS CIRT AGUS ATHCHÓIRITHE DLÍ DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE AND LAW REFORM Irish Naturalisation and Immigration Service



Students on Short stay Language Courses

There is a clearly market for shorter stay courses (<90 days) for non-EEA students, who might also wish to combine the study of English with other tourist pursuits. Having reviewed this matter the Department of Justice and Law Reform accepts that it would be appropriate to simply regard these students as tourists. Essentially the logic is that what the student does in Ireland during their short visit is not of concern to the Department. Whether the student spends their time in study, playing golf or touring is not particularly relevant. What is important is;

- (a) The stated reason for their visit is credible;
- (b) The student/tourist has a return flight and leaves at the end of their stay;
- (c) They can support themselves while here;
- (d) They obey the law;
- (e) They do not engage in work, and
- (f) They are covered by private medical insurance.

Therefore it is proposed that applications from students who can demonstrate that they are enrolled on a short term language course of less than 90 days and that they have paid the course fees in full, will now be treated as educational tourists.

Such students will be subject to visit/holiday visa rules. Guidelines for which may be found on the Irish Naturalisation and Immigration Service (INIS) website at www.inis.gov.ie.

Furthermore because they are staying for less than 90 days they will not have to register with the Immigration authorities (i.e. will not need a Garda National Immigration Bureau registration card).

NOTE : Students from some countries coming to Ireland are required to hold a valid Visa. If your country does not appear in the list of Non-Visa Required countries at Appendix 1 below then you will require a Visit/Holiday Visa.

Appendix 1 – Non Visa Required Countries

Citizens of certain countries require an entry visa for Ireland.

If you are a citizen of a country that is on schedule 1 below, you do NOT require an entry visa for Ireland. Citizens of countries which are not on the list must apply for a visa before they travel to Ireland.

Please note that a Schengen or UK visa or residence permission is NOT valid for travel to Ireland. If you are a national of a visa-required country you will need to apply for an Irish visa in advance of travel to Ireland.

Transit Visas ARE required by citizens of the countries listed in schedule 2 below.

All citizens of non-EU countries, whether they require a visa or not, are subject to immigration control at the point of entry to Ireland.

LIST OF COUNTRIES WHOSE PASSPORT HOLDERS DO NOT REQUIRE VISAS TO ENTER IRELAND:

ANDORRA ANTIGUA and BARBUDA ARGENTINA **AUSTRALIA AUSTRIA BAHAMAS** BARBADOS **BELGIUM** BELIZE BOLIVIA BOTSWANA BRAZIL BRUNEI **BULGARIA** CANADA CHILE COSTA RICA **CROATIA CYPRUS** CZECH REPUBLIC DENMARK DOMINICA EL SALVADOR **ESTONIA** FIJI **FINLAND**

FRANCE **GERMANY** GREECE **GRENADA GUATEMALA GUYANA HONDURAS** HONG KONG (Special Administrative Region) (*See further information below). HUNGARY **ICELAND ISRAEL** ITALY JAPAN **KIRIBATI** LATVIA LESOTHO LIECHTENSTEIN LITHUANIA LUXEMBOURG MACAU (Special Administrative Region) MALAWI MALAYSIA MALDIVES MALTA **MEXICO** MONACO NAURU **NETHERLANDS** NEW ZEALAND **NICARAGUA** NORWAY PANAMA PARAGUAY POLAND PORTUGAL **ROMANIA** SAINT KITTS & NEVIS SAINT LUCIA SAINT VINCENT & THE GRENADINES **SAMOA** SAN MARINO **SEYCHELLES** SINGAPORE SLOVAK REPUBLIC **SLOVENIA** SOLOMON ISLANDS SOUTH AFRICA SOUTH KOREA **SPAIN SWAZILAND**

SWEDEN SWITZERLAND TAIWAN TONGA TRINIDAD & TOBAGO TUVALU UNITED KINGDOM & Dependent Territories (noted below) UNITED STATES of AMERICA URUGUAY VANUATU VANUATU VATICAN CITY VENEZUELA

BRITISH DEPENDENT TERRITORIES

ANGUILLA BERMUDA BRITISH ANTARCTIC TERRITORY (South Georgia, South Sandwich Islands) BRITISH INDIAN OCEAN TERRITORIES (Chagos Archipelago, Peros Banos, Diego Garcia, Danger Island) CAYMAN ISLANDS FALKLAND ISLANDS and DEPENDICIES GIBRALTAR MONTSERRAT PITCAIRN (Henderson, Ducie and Oneno Islands) St. HELENA and DEPENDICIES (Ascension Island, Tristan Da Cunha) The SOVERIGN BASE AREAS of AKROTIRI and DHEKILA TURKS and CAICOS ISLAND BRITISH VIRGIN ISLANDS

*HONG KONG SAR

A person in possession of a Hong Kong certificate of identity requires an entry visa for the State.

Persons who are holders of a **British Hong Kong Passport** who have a right of abode in Great Britain do not require entry visas.

Persons who are holders of a **British Hong Kong Passport** who have a right of abode in Hong Kong only do not require entry visas but they are subject to full foreign national controls in respect of registration, permission to remain, work permits etc.

CONVENTION TRAVEL DOCUMENTS

Visas are not required by persons who are holders of Convention travel documents issued by the following countries:

BELGIUM CZECH REPUBLIC DENMARK FINLAND **GERMANY** ICELAND ITALY LIECHTENSTEIN LUXEMBOURG MALTA **NETHERLANDS** NORWAY POLAND PORTUGAL ROMANIA **SLOVAKIA SPAIN SWEDEN** SWITZERLAND.

Applicants who are holders of Convention travel documents issued by EEA states should refer to Article 3 of the Immigration Act 2004 Order 2009 (PDF 109kb) (Short visits only).

SCHEDULE 2

TRANSIT VISAS ARE REQUIRED BY CITIZENS OF THE FOLLOWING:

AFGHANISTAN ALBANIA **CUBA** DEMOCRATIC REPUBLIC OF THE CONGO ERITREA **ETHIOPIA** GHANA IRAN IRAQ LEBANON **MOLDOVA MONTENEGRO** NIGERIA SERBIA SOMALIA SRI LANKA ZIMBABWE

